Jean-Christophe Quinton architect
18 rue de la Grange-Batelière
75009 Paris, France

+33 (0)9 73 53 46 34
contact@quinton-architect.com
Instagram

Being an architect is about giving everyone the opportunity to be at greater ease with their environment, with other people and with themselves. It’s about thinking and designing places in which all types of human activity can flourish. No matter how intense our immersion into a space may be, architecture always invites us on an existential journey to belong to the world, to be present, and to feel alive. What ensures this immediate and tangible architectural experience is the considered use of the unique resources at architecture’s disposal during each project’s development phase: How will the body relate with its environment? What of the space’s purpose, the materials, dimensions, and the room itself? How will one take into consideration the relationship between interior and exterior, architectonics and space? The relationship between these elements, which finds its balance in a well-situated project, is at the heart of my architectural practice.

When I design, I allow myself to be guided by the project itself, to be sensitive to what is required for it to fully reveal itself. I find and establish the project’s rules; I try to identify the internal order that defines its character. A formalized process generates a specific form sometimes a rudimentary geometry, which then offers a recognizable pattern. Each project is thus the result of thorough research. The office is conceived of as a place to explore a project as defined by the project on its own terms; it is a workshop for experimentation and research. Our workshop is a place where each undertaking is realized by hand on a human scale through drawings and models.

Architecture thus emerges through a host of representations:
The blueprint gives details of the room, the project’s original core.
The rooms themselves, alone, dispersed.
The plan as a “society of rooms” (Kahn), which unites them.
The figure of the space where the relationship between the room and the building is played out.
The site’s figure refers to the project’s presence in its context.
The diagram explains the formalizing processes of the project.
The all-in-one linear drawing assembles the section, plan and axonometry and accounts for the project’s formal singularity.

Regarding drawing: It can be considered as an architectural practice of its own, whether of observation, analysis or design. The observation drawing tries to explore the world without constraint, with patience, in its own temporality. It helps to unmask the most superficial part of our gaze. The design drawing gives us an overview that allows us to look closely, to imagine and contemplate the project in process. It is a guide that directs us through the complexity of each situation; it confirms one’s intuition and calls for synthesis. Drawing allows you to explore rules, measurement and geometry. This research helps us to understand the internal order of things, to comprehend its systems and to restore inherent strengths. In a world of constraints, drawing remains a place of freedom where we never stop opening ourselves up to new possibilities.

Jean-Christophe Quinton, born in 1972, is graduated from the Paris-Belleville school in 2000. He created his office in 2003. In 2004, he won the New Albums of Young Architects and was mentioned in the Chernikov Prize in 2010. He also teaches in various schools of architecture and, since 2015, has directed the École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture of Versailles. The monograph of his work Towards the Immediate Strangeness of Forms received the City of Briey’s Grand Prix for Architecture Book in 2017. He has been a full member of the Academy of Architecture since 2019.

Team

Elias Bourbia
Romain Curnier
Morgane Guillemin
Florent Lesaulnier
Anne Machet
Emmanuel Malle
Paul Pascaud
Pierre Plaquevent
Noémie Puyo
Charles Rosenfeld
Elena Tejero

Special thanks to the following for their contributions to the office’s work

Houda Amrani, Anne-Charlotte Astrup, Pierre-Alexandre Bardat, Pantea Bahiraie, Laure Baubion, Hilaire Baudoin, Cyril Beaugé, Anthony Benarroche, Augustin Beraud, Hélène Besnard, Charlotte Billon, Alix Blancard, Thomas Bouchet, Pierre Breger, Louise Calmon, Naïs Campedel, Vivien Camus, Achille Caquant, Daphnée Caubit, Tristan Chadney, Laurence Cheret, Gaspard Clozel, Guy Conan, Francesca Coden, Pierre Condé, Martin Coudrey, Ambroise De Courtivron, Kang Dong-Eun, Matthieu Drujon, Claire Duchamp, Vincent Dumay, Benoît Dumont, Laure Duval, Thomas Duval, Adrien Fontanell, Cécile Gaillard, Alexis Gauchet, Victor Gautrin, Alexis Gayet, Alma Gazeau, Louise Graf, Romuald Grall, Tristan Guibert, Raphaël Hucliez, Samuel Jaubert De Bauteu, Nicolas Jacquot, Maxime Jaume, Biancheng Jiang, Raphaël Kadid, Tae-Hee Kang, Daehan Kim, Hyung-Suk Kim, Susie Kim, Audrey Kromwel, Hugo Lamy, Carole Lenoble, François Le Pivain, Taeck-Gu Lee, Rozenn Lerin, Martin Leveilley, Minghao Li, Laura Llort, Jérémie Loury, Harold Macdonald, Jack-Yves Marion, Brice Maurin, Valentin Mazet, Thibault Mazevet, Geoffrey Ménage, Anis Merun, Victor Miot, Rastine Mir, Guillaume Mithieux, Jérémy Monsimert, David Moreaux, Henry Morgan, Manon Muller, Anne Musca, Nathan Paulot, Yara Pavel, Félix Pernot, Olivier Peroneau, Juliette Pochard, Vincent Pottier, Antoine Pradeau, Tadeusz Pruszkowski, Guillaume Ramillien, Huguette Ruzibiza, Yony Santos, Florent Schwartz, Camille Sineau, Zeng Teng, Vu Tran Duy Anh, Lindley Vidal, Antoine Wenisch, Nicolas Wicart, Cheng-Yen Wu, Di Wu, Deahwan Yeo, Eric Zimmerli, Nenad Zivkovic.

Credits

Graphic design: Building Paris.
Code: Ahmed Ghazi.
Webite hosted on ovh.com

Legal notice

Copyright 2021, Jean-Christophe Quiton architecte. The general structure, as well as the software, texts, animated or fixed images, sounds, know-how, drawings, graphics, photographs and all other elements composing this website are of the exclusive use of the company Jean-Christophe Quiton architecte. Any total or partial representation of this website, by any means whatsoever, without the express permission of the company Jean-Christophe Quiton architecte is prohibited.

Jean-Christophe Quinton architecte
18 rue de la Grange-Batelière
75009 Paris, France

+33 (0)9 73 53 46 34
contact@quinton-architect.com
Instagram

Être architecte c’est donner la possibilité à chacun d’être mieux avec son environnement, mieux avec les autres et mieux avec soi-même. C’est penser et concevoir des lieux dans lesquels toutes les activités humaines trouvent à s’épanouir. Quelle que soit l’intensité de l’immersion architecturale, l’architecture invite toujours à cette expérience existentielle: se sentir inscrit dans le monde, dans le présent, se sentir en vie. Ce qui garantit ce caractère immédiat et concret de l’expérience architecturale est le recours convaincu aux ressources propres de l’architecture dans l’élaboration du projet: la question des corps avec leur environnement, l’usage, la matière, la mesure, la pièce, la relation intérieur-extérieur, l’architectonique et l’espace. Cette multiplicité de mises en relations qui trouve son équilibre dans un projet situé est au cœur de ma pratique architecturale.

Lorsque je conçois, je me laisse guider par le projet lui-même, en étant sensible à ce qu’il réclame pour pleinement se révéler. Je trouve et fonde les règles du projet, j’essaie de dégager l’ordre intérieur qui le gouverne et qui lui assure l’intégralité de son caractère. Des dispositifs de mise en forme en génèrent une figure spécifique, souvent de géométrie rudimentaire, qui offre un motif reconnaissable. Chaque projet est ainsi le fruit d’une recherche patiente. L’agence est pensée comme un lieu d’exploration du projet par le projet, un atelier d’expérimentations et de recherches. L’atelier désigne ce lieu où l’engagement se réalise par le travail de la main: à échelle humaine, par le dessin et les maquettes.

L’architecture surgit à travers un faisceau de représentations récurrentes:
Le plan bleu détaille la pièce, cellule originelle du projet.
Les pièces en elles-mêmes, seules, éparses.
Le plan comme «société de pièces» (Kahn) qui les unifie.
La figure d’espace où se joue la relation la pièce et l’édifice.
La figure de site renvoie à la présence du projet dans son contexte.
Le schéma explicite le dispositif de mise en forme générale du projet.
Le dessin filaire tout-en-un assemble coupe, plan et axonométrie et rend compte de l’étrangeté formelle du projet.

Quant au dessin, il peut être considéré comme une pratique architecturale à part entière, qu’il soit d’observation, d’analyse ou de conception. Le dessin d’observation cherche à explorer le monde sans contrainte, patiemment, dans une temporalité qui lui est propre. Il aide à démasquer la part la plus superficielle de notre regard. Le dessin de conception est quant à lui un terrain ouvert qui permet de guetter, d’imaginer, de se donner le moyen de tout envisager et de saisir les manifestations du projet en train de se faire. C’est un guide qui oriente à travers la complexité des situations, confirme les intuitions et invite à la synthèse. Dessiner permet d’explorer les règles, la mesure, la géométrie. C’est une recherche pour saisir l’ordre interne des choses, pour capter les dispositifs qui les mettent en forme et pour en restituer les forces immanentes. Dans un monde de contraintes, le dessin demeure ce lieu de liberté où l’on ne cesse d’ouvrir les possibles.

Jean-Christophe Quinton, né en 1972, est diplômé de l’école Paris-Belleville en 2000. Il crée son agence en 2003. En 2004, il est lauréat des Nouveaux Albums des Jeunes Architectes et est mentionné au Chernikov Prize en 2010. Il enseigne en parallèle dans différentes écoles d’architecture et dirige, depuis 2015, l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Versailles. La monographie de son travail Vers l’immédiate étrangeté des formes a reçu en 2017 le Grand prix du livre d’architecture de la Ville de Briey. Il est membre titulaire de l’Académie d’Architecture depuis 2019.

Équipe

Elias Bourbia
Romain Curnier
Morgane Guillemin
Florent Lesaulnier
Anne Machet
Emmanuel Malle
Paul Pascaud
Pierre Plaquevent
Noémie Puyo
Charles Rosenfeld
Elena Tejero

Remerciements, pour leur participation au sein de l’agence

Houda Amrani, Anne-Charlotte Astrup, Pierre-Alexandre Bardat, Pantea Bahiraie, Laure Baubion, Hilaire Baudoin, Cyril Beaugé, Anthony Benarroche, Augustin Beraud, Hélène Besnard, Charlotte Billon, Alix Blancard, Thomas Bouchet, Pierre Breger, Louise Calmon, Naïs Campedel, Vivien Camus, Achille Caquant, Daphnée Caubit, Tristan Chadney, Laurence Cheret, Gaspard Clozel, Guy Conan, Francesca Coden, Pierre Condé, Martin Coudrey, Ambroise De Courtivron, Kang Dong-Eun, Matthieu Drujon, Claire Duchamp, Vincent Dumay, Benoît Dumont, Laure Duval, Thomas Duval, Adrien Fontanell, Cécile Gaillard, Alexis Gauchet, Victor Gautrin, Alexis Gayet, Alma Gazeau, Louise Graf, Romuald Grall, Tristan Guibert, Raphaël Hucliez, Samuel Jaubert De Bauteu, Nicolas Jacquot, Maxime Jaume, Biancheng Jiang, Raphaël Kadid, Tae-Hee Kang, Daehan Kim, Hyung-Suk Kim, Susie Kim, Audrey Kromwel, Hugo Lamy, Carole Lenoble, François Le Pivain, Taeck-Gu Lee, Rozenn Lerin, Martin Leveilley, Minghao Li, Laura Llort, Jérémie Loury, Harold Macdonald, Jack-Yves Marion, Brice Maurin, Valentin Mazet, Thibault Mazevet, Geoffrey Ménage, Anis Merun, Victor Miot, Rastine Mir, Guillaume Mithieux, Jérémy Monsimert, David Moreaux, Henry Morgan, Manon Muller, Anne Musca, Nathan Paulot, Yara Pavel, Félix Pernot, Olivier Peroneau, Juliette Pochard, Vincent Pottier, Antoine Pradeau, Tadeusz Pruszkowski, Guillaume Ramillien, Huguette Ruzibiza, Yony Santos, Florent Schwartz, Camille Sineau, Zeng Teng, Vu Tran Duy Anh, Lindley Vidal, Antoine Wenisch, Nicolas Wicart, Cheng-Yen Wu, Di Wu, Deahwan Yeo, Eric Zimmerli, Nenad Zivkovic.

Crédits

Design Graphique: Building Paris.
Code: Ahmed Ghazi.
Site hébergé sur ovh.com

Mentions légales

Copyright 2021, Jean-Christophe Quiton architecte. La structure générale, ainsi que les logiciels, textes, images animées ou fixes, sons, savoir-faire, dessins, graphismes, photographies et tous autres éléments composant ce site web sont de l’utilisation exclusive de la société Jean-Christophe Quiton architecte. Toute représentation totale ou partielle de ce site, par quelques procédés que ce soient, sans autorisation expresse de la société Jean-Christophe Quiton architecte est interdite.